Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning & Zoning Commission consists of seven members/residents who are appointed by the City Council. The Commission reviews all the changes to the Comprehensive Plan of the City of Walcott including rezonings, preliminary and final plats, and site plans. In addition to reviewing the proposals, the Commission makes recommendations to the Council for approval, approval with conditions, or denial. The Commission meets as needed, on the second Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall and is chaired by Trish Moses. Other board members are: Christine Thompson, Mike Sissel, Tom Sweeney, Heidi Wulf, and Joe Aubry. The Zoning Administrator oversees the functions of planning, zoning, subdivision, plan review, and land use for the City of Walcott. 

The Zoning Administrator should be consulted to determine which process is appropriate for your development.

Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Zoning Board of Adjustment (ZBA) is a quasi-judicial body authorized by the State of Iowa and the Walcott City Code to interpret and give exceptions to the zoning code. Such exceptions include variances and special use permits. Additionally, the ZBA hears and decides any appeals of the decision of the Zoning Administrator. The ZBA is composed of five residents of the City of Walcott and is appointed by the City Council for a five year term. Meetings are scheduled by the Zoning Administrator following receipt of an appropriate application. The Board is chaired by Jason Holdorf and other members are: Brent Arp, Bernard Brus, Kristal Koberg-Schaefer, and Sandy Liebbe .

Requirements regarding all aspects of development may be viewed on our City Code.

Applications and Handbooks

Contact Us

Tabetha Wright, Secretary

128 W. Lincoln Street
PO Box 247
Walcott, IA 52773

Phone: 563.284.6571 x10

Hours: Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Quick Links

Skip to content